open menuclose menu

Meet your March Mentors

Here at Galileo we like to keep things marching along, so without further ado, here are our mentors for the month of March.
By Heidi van Heerden - Images by Jenny Paglinawan

 
  • March 1st, 2021, at 2 pm GMT/ 6 am PST, Monday, Michelle Arévalo-Carpenter

Michelle was a formal manager at a human rights and technology NGO. She launched GreenCrowds, which is Ecuador’s first crowdfunding platform. Michelle is the CEO of IMPAQTO, the first social innovation accelerator and network of coworking spaces in Ecuador. She was also the founding Country Director of a rights clinic for refugees in developing countries reaching more than 9,000 refugees in Asia, Africa and Latin America.

  • March 8th, 2021, at 2 pm GMT/ 6 am PST, Monday, Selma Abualia

Selma is an award-winning chef (Top Chef MENA 2012), a consultant and an agri food tech enthusiast. Selma has led numerous projects in the global hospitality industry, from Bali to Italy and Jordan. Her projects include opening restaurants, designing menus and food products, building new restaurant concepts, and discovering new methods and techniques to grow and cook food.

After completing her master’s in Food Innovation, Selma reset her thinking and focused on fresh produce. This cultivated her vision and creativity as a young chef. The shift in opportunity to agri-tech is now her main focus in the United Arab Emirates.

  • March 17th, 2021, at 8 pm GMT/ 12 pm PST, Wednesday, Álvaro Sanmartin

Alvaro is the cofounder and board member of PAZ. He is a talent accelerator for refugees with outstanding potential. He goes wherever a humanitarian problem arises, listens to those in need, and places cutting edge technology at the fingertips of bright minds. At the moment he is working on the European Refugee crisis, training refugees in digital skills and connecting them with European companies that are looking for a more diverse and sustainable workforce.

Alvaro has more than ten years of experience leading Ed-tech projects to design education solutions for companies working on upskilling projects. Alvaro spends his life finding and testing different ways of learning to help people develop new skills.

  • March 26th, 2021, at 1 pm GMT/ 6 am PST, Friday, Sylvia Calvo

Sylvia Calvo studied English Philology but her interest in fashion took her on an awe inspiring journey.

She attended a conference about Eco-Fashion in 2012 which led to a complete mind shift regarding the fashion and textile industry. She learned more about sustainable fashion and the alternatives to having a positive social, environmental, and economic impact.

In 2013 Sylvia co-founded the non-profit Association “Moda Sostenible Barcelona”, which promoted the benefits of sustainable fashion. The first of its kind! In 2015, she created the brand “Sylvia Calvo BCN”, repurposing original coffee bags to transform them into garments and complements.

  • March 29th, 2021, at 9 pm GMT/ 2 pm PST, Monday, Miguel Ordeñana

Miguel Ordeñana is an environmental educator and wildlife biologist.

As a community science manager, Miguel promotes and creates community science projects and recruits and trains participants. Miguel does urban mammal research in L.A. and co-leads the Natural History Museum of Los Angeles’s Squirrel Survey. Miguel continues to work, locally and internationally, on carnivore and bat research, including a jaguar project in Nicaragua.

Share this post:

Share on facebook Share on Facebook Send via emailShare on twitter Share on Twitter

Join the Learning Network

Join hundreds of other families interested in self-directed learning, and get access to tons of resources for your children!

We are accepting new Galileo students every week, so your children don't have to wait until the next school year to start their personalized learning journeys.